

PARISH COUNCIL

A <u>Parish Council</u> has served Stratton St Margaret as part of <u>The Local Government Act 1894</u> which introduced elected councils at district and parish level.

In 1901 the councillors were: - Thomas Arkell, George Lampeter, George Heale, William Thos Brown, Theodor Samuel Datmund, Frederick Reeve, William BAughn, Harry Dyke, Joth Edward Titley, Hubert Wildern, Thomas Greenway Hood, George Romans, William Henry Hill, William Radway, William Thomas Harris and Frederick Amos Blake.

The first lady councillor was Lily Alice Iles who joined the council 16th April 1925. Other early ladies on council Annie Florence Brooks in 1931, Helen Eliza Colbourne in 1934 and Barbara Alison Clack in 1946.

Extract from Evening Advertiser 1947: 'Mr W Townsend was elected chairman for the Stratton Parish Council. He received seven votes, while retiring chairman MR S C Casson received three and Mr W J Hathaway, the third nominee, withdrew. Tribute was paid to the courteous and efficient manner in which Mr Casson had carried out his duties.'

The present Parish Council dates from 1973 following <u>The Local Government Act 1972</u> the first clerk being John Elwyn Thomas. The Parish Council's main priority is to provide high quality, well maintained open spaces including safe, interesting and innovative play areas. The Council employs around 55 full and part time staffs who help deliver the various services not available from the Borough on behalf of local residents.

In 1978 the Community Centre in Grange Drive was built the first manager was Bob McMillan and the caretaker was Brian Cripps. Completely refurbished in 2014 with new Gym and 4G football pitch. Parish office was also moved to centre at this time.

In 2017 the council took back hedging, grass cutting and litter duties from Borough Council as they attempted to reduce their costs.

Chairs

Years	in Office	6	Ohner News	N-4
From	То	Surname	Given Names	Notes
1895	1896	Arkell	T.	
1914		Thorne	W.	
1915		Hood	T. G.	
1916		Hammond	F.	
1917	1918	Loveday	G.	
1919	1924	Wildern	H. E.	
1925		Sellars	A. W.	
1926		Keene	A. G.	
1927	1928	Rowley	J.	
1929	1930	Franklin	W. E.	
1931		Muller	W. G.	
1932		Blake	F. A.	
1933	1934	Branwell	W.	
1935	1936	Maslin	C. J.	
1937		Smith	F. E.	
1938	1939	Maslin	C. J.	
1940		Webb	V. J.	
1941		Casson	S. C.	
1942		Bowerman	P.	
1943	1944	Birds	J. W.	
1945	1946	Townsend	W.	
1947		Casson	S. C.	
1948	1949	Hathaway	W. J.	
1950	1952	Casson	S. C.	
1953	1954	Hathaway	W. J.	
1955		Hackett	P.	
1956	1965	Smith	H. J.	
1966				
1973		Miles	A. S.	
1990		Owen	U. A., Mrs	
1994	1999	Cawte	D. R.	
2000		Owen	Peter, BEM	
2010		Owen	Peter	
2011		Page	Teresa	
2013		Foley	John	
2015		Tray	Joseph	
2017		Leach	S.	

Clerks

Years in Office		0		Notes
From	То	Surname	Given Names	Notes
1895	1896	Colborne	S.	
1930	1938	Cox	John	
1951		Mountford	H. W.	
1961		Harding	F. G.	
1963		Duckworth	P. B.	
1965	1970	Walter	J. H.	
1973	1975	Thomas	John Elwyn	
1975	1995	Barber	Donald	
1995	2001	Thomas	Shirley E., Mrs.	
2001	2007	Blake	Robert	
2007	2013	Russell	Paul	
2013		Chalk	Nigel	As temporary Principal Officer
2014	-	Predeth	Tracey	