

Amesbury Union

The Amesbury Union was formed on the 9th inst., and the following gentlemen were elected Guardians for the parishes to which their names are annexed:

Elected Guardian			Doriek
Surname	Given Names	Title	Parish
Atkins		Mr.	Rollestone
Baker		Mr.	Maddington
Blake	Charles	Mr.	Idmiston
Blatch		Mr.	Winterbourne Dauntsey
Burrowes		Mr.	Winterbourne Stoke
Cook		Mr.	Orcheston St. Mary
Cusse	Samuel	Mr.	Winterbourne Earls
Giddings		Mr.	Tilshead
Gray		Mr.	Wilsford
Hayward		Mr.	Figheldean
Horne		Mr.	Allington
Hughes		Mr.	Woodford
Humphries	S.	Mr.	Cholderton
Judd		Mr.	Newton Toney
Long		Mr.	Amesbury
Long		Mr., Jnr.	Bulford
Mills		Mr.	Orcheston St. George
Pinckney		Mr.	Amesbury
Rendall		Mr.	Milston
Rowden		Mr.	Durrington
Smith	S.	Mr.	Durnford
Sutton	Job	Mr.	Winterbourne Gunner
Wansbrough	Charles	Mr.	Shrewton
Waters		Mr.	Boscombe

Their first meeting was at the George Inn, at Amesbury, on the 12th, when the before mentioned gentlemen, and Sir Alexander mallet, the Rev. E. Duke, the Rev. G. P. Lowther, as ex-officio Guardians, attended, to meet Col. A'Court. They elected Mr. Lowther Chairman; Mr. Hughes, of Woodford, Vice-Chairman; Mr. Wilson, of Salisbury, their Clerk; Messrs. Brodie and Co., their Treasurers; and the following relieving officers: Mr. J. Windsor, for the eight first parishes which are to form one district; Mr. St. George Lowther, for the seven next parishes, to form another; and Mr. Edwin Farr, for the last eight parishes, which form the third.

Salisbury and Winchester Journal, 19 October 1835

OPC Note:-

First eight parishes forming one district includes Durrington, Figheldean, Bulford, Amesbury, Milston, Wilsford, Durnford and Woodford.

The next seven forming a further district includes Tilshead, Orcheston St. George, Orcheston St. Mary, Maddington, Shrewton, Rollestone and Winterbourne Stoke.

The last eight parishes that form the final district includes Cholderton, Newton Tony, Allington, Boscombe, Idmiston, Winterbourne Gunner, Winterbourne Dauntsey and Winterbourne Earls.

At the same meeting guardians for The Wilton and Alderbury Unions were also elected. The lists for these guardians will be published on their relative parish pages. For ease of research we have listed the guardians in a table format in alphabetical order.